So I have had an awesome time here in Ghana so far. But as I sit here in the dark, sweating like crazy I feel the need to blog about one of the things I do not love about Ghana – DUMSOR (electricity or the lack thereof). Having electricity is not guaranteed 24/7 in many places in Ghana, unless you have a generator or use solar panels. Just imagine coming home after a long day and all you want to do is take a cold shower and go to bed. But no, there is no airconditioning and the room feels more like a sauna. There were nights were I literally didn’t sleep because of the dumsor or I would even wake up in the middle of the night after the aircon stopped working. I am starting to get used to it but I am everything but happy with it. It is one of the things I don’t like about life here but at the end of the day the positive things that I do love outweigh the negatives. So what is the reason for the dumsor problem? I have asked people before but no one has been able to explain it to me in a way that made sense to me. So I will just leave it under the label of ‘Mismanagement’. If any reads this and wants to explain it to me (on paper so that I can take my time and read it) that would be awesome.

PS: Check this picture of me in my fabulous outfit! Do you like it #dumsor?

IMG_8589

Hugs & Kisses,

Jem.

