Now before you start judging me based on the title (cause you know how some of you can be!), let me explain.

I started writing this post weeks before my Master’s degree ceremony. I almost didn’t go. Heck, I had just gotten back from a great trip and kind of forgot about it actually. But I can say that I am happy that I attended, for a few reasons:

  1. It’s ok to take some time to celebrate achievements.
  2. It was nice to see the faces of the other students/lecturers (esp. my study buddy) and reflect upon that year.
  3. I got to wear a cute dress and high heels.
  4. I realised that I was born to stand out… (I have a photo to prove that, lol.)

DSC04143.JPG

Ok… So back to why I think university isn’t all that…

I am a proud graduate with a Bachelor degree and a Masters degree. This seems to be a decent achievement for a 25-year old lady and I guess it is. Plus, I wouldn’t trade any (ok, maybe just a couple) of the experiences I have had for anything! I think it’s nice that I get to put it on my resume and tell people about it but there’s more to the story than just that. University taught me a lot but most especially it taught me that it isn’t all that… unless you make it into all that and then more.

What do I mean? I mean that we need to shift our emphasis and definition of “education” towards that which really matters. Education is extremely important to me. I could talk about it for years straight.. ok, ok maybe just hours but you get what I mean. But to me, education is not just getting the highest attainable degree or award. It’s about learning, discovering, gaining and sharing knowledge and bettering yourself and the world around you. That is what excites me most about education. Your intelligence is not in how many degrees you have, it is in everything you have wisely accumulated over the years.

To be honest, it started at a young age for me. I really enjoyed school not really for the people but because I got to learn and work (my teachers actually complained to my parents in my first class of primary school. Apparently, I didn’t really talk to the other kids unless necessary. I just sat there quietly and did my work. I didn’t know that was a ‘bad’ thing). So eventually, all of this resulted into me going to university. It wasn’t because my parents or society pressured me into it. There was no “you better come home with 10+ on your report card”. It was an environment of, “just do your best, God is on your side.” It was comforting.

I am happy that I went to university for two degrees and it shouldn’t shock anyone if I decide to return back to university. But I will never be bullied into it. I remember a time after my Bachelor’s where my mum was starting to feel uncomfortable because I had finished my degree but I wasn’t looking for a job nor was I looking at doing another degree. She must have wondered what others would think. As for me, I was so unbothered! I wanted to make sure that I followed the steps that God has for me in His perfect plan. So that is exactly what I pursued and talked to God about. It wasn’t until a year later that I felt a strong desire to further my education and pursue a Masters degree in a field I love.

So along the line one of the things that I have learned is that not everyone will go to university or further their studies (i.e. Masters degree or PhD) but that doesn’t mean that they can’t pursue an education. If you have the opportunity to go to university, please go! You will learn a lot AND also because not all drop-outs become great entrepreneurs like Richard Branson and co. But if you don’t have that possibility to go to university you can still educate yourself. Read books, read articles, listening to podcasts, find mentors! There are endless possibilities. Sorry to say but if you can be ignorant on important topics in this day and age, then it is because you choose to be, so if you’re busy complaining and throwing yourself a pity party, don’t invite me please!

img_1758

With all of this being said, I believe that university is important but education is the key word.

There is actually hope for all of us and we don’t need a paper to prove it!

 

